County Kings toast 2017-18 OMHA season

CROWNING ACHIEVEMENT- Lehigh Cement Group Bantam BB Kings forward Spencer Haennel was the Matt Stever 'Rudy' Memorial Award winner in 2017-18. Haennel was selected at the best Kings player showing leadership, dedication, enthusiasm, tenacity and passion. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)



While they might not have captured an All Ontario title, there was still plenty to crow about at the annual Prince Edward County Minor Hockey banquet Tuesday night.

Nolan Lane (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

For instance- a pair of Ontario Minor Hockey Association semi-finals births by the Lehigh Valley Cement Group Bantam BB Kings and the Ainsworth Funeral Home Midget BB Kings kept local minor hockey fans occupied well into the spring.

A total of 149 wins and 16 ties in 242 games played collectively and seven tournament titles that included four triumphs by the Terpstra Equipment Atom BB Kings was another point of pride for the Association.

Outgoing PECMHA president Darren Marshall pointed to these on-ice feats and explained the players were responsible for their part however it took a support system to reach the level of success the Kings attained in the 2017-18 hockey season.
“These are some of the impressive accomplishments that you all should be proud of,” Marshall said of the aforementioned awards, championships and records. “Of course none of these things would be possible without the support of many people that make the season a success.”

Marshall pointed to the municipality and the staff, team sponsors, initiation program organizer Darren Yuill, gate attendant Rosemary Moore, referee-in-chief Steve Prinzen and local officials, volunteer bench staff, parents and the executive members of PECMHA as all playing their parts in 2017-2018 to provide local hockey players a great organization in which to grow, develop and compete.

Among the hardware handed out Tuesday was the Bruce Dolson Memorial Award for top goaltender in the PECMHA by goals against average and it was a return for Bantam BB netminder Nolan Lane, perhaps the Kings answer to Dominik Hasek.

This season marked the fourth year in a row and fifth year overall that the Wellington native has posted the lowest GAA for a Kings goalie, posting a stingy 1.60 in 2017-2018.

Spencer Haennel (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Other awards included:

Tom Verner Memorial Award for most goals per game by a King- Mitchell Sills (57 Goals in 22 games).

Matt Stever Memorial Award for leadership, dedication, enthusiasm, tenacity and passion- Spencer Haennel.

Barrett Family Memorial Award for leading points producer- Ross Maycock.

Novice Rookie of the Year award- Averie Cole.

Don Cournyea Memorial Award for most sportsmanlike player- Kallen Vancott.

Kallen Vancott (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Bruce Barrett Memorial Award for Manager of the Year- Sherry Sills.

Don Wight Memorial Coach of the Year award- Tod Lavender.

PECMHA Appreciation Award- Heather Zantingh

Gord Stone Memorial Award for the team progressing the furthest in the OMHA Playoffs- The Lehigh Cement Group Bantam BB Kings.

Kathy and Keith Brooks present Liam Rice with the Darrin Brooks Memorial award for top Pee Wee-aged defenceman. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)














In individual team awards:

Trent Bucknell, Jake Goad, Drake Wight, Lane Kempers, Ryker Wood and Averie Cole. (Jason Parks/ Gazette Staff)

County Farm Centre Novice BB Kings– Trent Bucknell (Most Valuable Player), Jake Goad (Most Sportsmanlike Player), Drake Wight (Most Improved Player), Lane Kempers (Best Defenceman) and Ryker Wood (Top Points).

Mitchell Sills, Kallen Vancott, Tyler Doolan and Theo Lavender (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Terpstra Equipment Atom BB Kings– Mitchell Sills (MVP, TP), Kallen Vancott (MSP), Tyler Doolan (MIP) and Theo Lavender (BD).

Austin Stock, Matthew Millington, Tyler Hall, Liam Rice and Gerrit Kempers. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Terra Vista Landscaping Pee Wee BB Kings– Austin Stock (MVP), Matthew Millington (MSP), Tyler Hall (MIP), Liam Rice (Darrin Brooks Memorial Award winner for Pee Wee Best Defenceman), and Gerrit Kempers (TP).

Cole Lavender, Jarret Osterhout, Aiden Reddick and Ross Maycock. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Lehigh Cement Group Bantam BB Kings– Cole Lavender (Tyler McConnell Memorial award for Bantam MVP), Jarrett Osterhout (MSP), Aiden Reddick (MIP), Cameron Pero (Clancy Bond Memorial Award for Bantam Best Defenceman), and Ross Maycock (TP).

Trevor Miller, Wyatt Gilbert, Will Ronan, Braeden Kelly and Cole St. Pierre. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Ainsworth Funeral Home Midget BB Kings– Trevor Miller (MVP), Wyatt Gilbert (MSP), Will Ronan (MIP), Braeden Kelly (BD) and Cole St. Pierre (TP).


Heather Zantingh, Tod Lavender and Sherry Sills. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)