County Kings get a taste of ICHL success in 2018

FOR EVERY KING, A CROWN- The AtoMc Silver Prince Edward County Kings captured the 2018 Inter-Community Hockey League B Playoff Championship earlier this spring with a 3-2 win over the Napanee Stars 3. (Submitted Photo)


The Prince Edward County Minor Hockey Association made some history this season in the Local League ranks as a local club captured the first Inter-Community Hockey League in County Kings history.

In fact, the die was cast during the round robin playoff portion in the bantam ranks as Sobey’s and Scotiabank finished the first and second, respectively, in the A playoff pool meaning the two teams would face off against one another for the A Championship.

HISTORY MAKERS- The PECMHA Sobey’s Kings made local hockey history in 2017-18, becoming the first County Kings entry to win an ICHL A Championship. (Submitted Photo)

“It was another outstanding year in the ICHL for our association,” PECMHA President Darren Marshall said. “The level of play and the organization by the league is top-notch and I know our players and coaches really enjoyed themselves this season.”

With the departure of ‘Additional Entry’ or B teams in this part of Ontario, the ICHL has filled a void of for local organizations from Prince Edward County to Gananoque to Frontenac to offer out-of-town games without the competitiveness of representational hockey.

Sobey’s wound blanking Scotiabank 5-0 in the A finals.

In atom ranks, the Purple AtoMc Kings just missed out on an A championship, losing to the Stone Mills Sabres 2-1 in overtime while the Silver AtoMc Kings won the B championship with a 3-2 win over Napanee.

The 2017-18 Local League season was wrapped up with the annual County Championship and pizza banquet day.

The major PECMHA Award winners included:

Blake Shepard-Benway was the Devin Dulmage Award winner in 2017-18. Pictured with Blake are (Left) Jordan Benway, (Right) Teresa Shepard and (centre) coach Andrew Cranshaw. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Devin Dulmage Memorial Award winner for most promising tyke player: Blake Shepard-Benway.

Gwen Eaton Memorial Award for player and family dedication, sportsmanship and ambassadorship: Landon Latchford.

Landon Latchford was the 2017-18 Gwen Eaton Memorial Award winner. Pictured with Landon is (From left) Mike Latchford, Troy Eaton, Nicole Latchford and Andrew Cranshaw. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Elijah Memorial Award for love of the game of hockey and bringing fun and enjoyment to teammates: Bella Cole.

Lang Williams Award for best defenceman at the Bantam level: Owen Payette.

Don ‘Ducky’ Wight Memorial award for Local League Coach of the Year: Jason Parks





Individual team awards included:

Timbit Red-Bennett Terpstra (Most Dedicated Player), Claire Lavender (Most Sportsmanlike Player) and Rylan Harris (Most Improved Player).

Timbit Green- Max Bucknell (MDP), Bane Baverstock-Wood (MSP) and Antonio Auciello (MIP).

(From left) Russell McFaul, Harvey Lough and Adam McCormack. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Tyke- Russel McFaul (MDP), Harvey Lough (MSP) and Adam McCormack (MIP).

Novice- Owen Denouden (MDP), Mason Hennigar (MSP) and Cole Byford (MIP).

Atom Purple- Cohen Bedore (MDP), Nathan Mowbray (MSP) and Dustin Kutchaw (MIP).

(From left) Coach Nathan Banfield, Nathan Mowbray, Dustin Kutchaw, Cohen Bedore and coach Andrew Holmes. (Submitted Photo)

Atom Silver- Alex Pickle (MDP), Kate Cowan (MSP) and Bradley Stever (MIP).

Pee Wee Scotiabank- Dante Closson (MDP), Quinn Fisher (MSP) and Alex Korchuk (MIP).

Pee Wee Kinsmen- Riley Symons (MDP), Keiren Renaud (MSP) and Elias Andrason-Murray (MIP).

Bantam Sobey’s- Jeff Snider (MDP), Cayden Todd-Gourley (MSP) and Owen Tyers (MIP).

Bantam Scotiabank Peter McGuey (MDP), Khalim Near (MSP) and Braydon Weir (MIP).


(From left) Coach Jason Parks, Kate Cowan, Bradley Stever, Alex Pickle and coach Brad Thompson. (Submitted Photo)