PECMHA Local Leaguers close 2018-19 season out in style

COLE MEMORIAL AWARD WINNER- (Centre) Midget Local League player Bruce Reynolds was chosen as the 2018-19 Elijah Cole Memorial Award Winner at the PECMHA Local League Awards Mar. 30. Pictured with Reynolds is Elijah's mom (Left) Tracy Cole and his aunt (Right) Amy Steen. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)



For hundreds of dedicated Local League hockey players in Prince Edward County, over five months of games and practices finally came to fruition Mar. 30 as the Prince Edward County Minor Hockey Association hosted its annual County Championship day, the culminating event of the 2018-19 season.

“We are so proud of all of our teams, our volunteer staff and our parents for representing the Prince Edward County Minor Hockey Association so well this season,” PECMHA President Steve Payne said.

After the local league clubs from the tyke to the midget ranks faced off, PECMHA handed out the annual Esso Awards of Achievement as well as some special awards for individual players and coaches.

PECMHA President Steve Payne and Devin Dulmage Award winner Max Bucknell. (Submitted Photo)

The Esso award winners include:

Tyke One-Hudson Scanlon (Most Dedicated), Nathan Howe (Most Sportsmanlike) and Robbie Watson (Most Improved).

Tyke Two- Max Bucknell (MD), Claire Lavender (MS) and Conner Simmons (MI).

Max Bucknell was also presented with the Devin Dulmage Memorial Award as most promising tyke player.

Prinzen Novice award winners (From left) Jack Thompson, Harvey Lough and Liam Scanlon along with coaches (left) Andrew Cranshaw and Josh Baldwin. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Novice Prinzen Kings-Jack Thompson (MD), Harvey Lough (MS) and Liam Scanlon (MI).

Atomc Blue- Jaydon Hass (MD), Drew McCabe (MS) and Porter Hymus (MI). Atomc Orange- Marshall Kingma (MD), Owen Denouden (MS) and Austin Raycroft (MI).

Pee Wee Scotiabank- Draeden Hymus (MD), Grace Werkhoven (MS) and Josh Vader (MI).

Pee Wee Kinsmen- Alex Pickle (MD), Lucas Hicks (MS) and Tyler Mowbray (MI).

Bantam Sobeys- Parker Philip (MD), Christian Payne (Ms) and Ben Wiese (MI).

Bantam Scotiabank- Lucas Algar (MD), Nic Foster (Ms) and Quinn Fisher (MI).

Elijah Cole Memorial Award- Bruce Reynolds.

Gwen Eaton Memorial Award- Rob and Teal Wood.

Bruce Barrett Memorial Award- Kristin Terpstra.

PECMHA Volunteer Award- Ben Cowan.

Don Wight Memorial Local League Coach of the Year- Greg Valleau.

The Wood family won the Gwen Eaton Memorial Award for 2018-19. Pictured are Rob and Teal Wood and Tyke player Bane Wood. (Submitted Photo)

(Left) PECMHA President Steve Payne and (Right) Coach Garry Henniger with Atomc Orange award winners (From left) Owen Denouden, Marshall Kingma and Austin Raycroft. (Submitted Photo)

(Left) PECMHA President Steve Payne and (Right) Coach Ben Cowan with Atomc Blue award winners (From left) Porter Hymus, Drew McCabe and Jaydon Haas. (Submitted Photo)

(Far Left) Don Wight Memorial Local League Coach of the Year Greg Valleau and (Right) Assistant coach Jeff Gordon with the Pee Wee Scotiabank Esso Award winners (from left) Josh Vader, Draeden Hymus and Grace Werkhoven. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Kinsman Coaches (Left) Chris Vancott and (Right) Jason Parks with award winners Tyler Mowbray, Lucas Hicks and Alex Pickle. (Submitted Photo)

Sobeys coaches (Left) Chris Wier and (Right) Ben Cowan with award winners Parker Philip, Christian Payne and Ben Weise. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)

Scotiabank coaches (Left) Tony Guerrera and (Right) Andy Lloyd with award winners Lucas Algar, Nic Foster and Quinn Fisher. (Jason Parks/Gazette Staff)