Greg Sorbara named honourary chair of County FM’s 2022 Radiothon

Local folk-pop duo Kyra and Tully are one of 44 acts slated to take part in the annual County FM Radiothon June 2-5 in support of the local community radio station. (Submitted Photo)


Upwards of 45 talented and local musicians will take part in County FM’s annual fundraising radiothon next month. The local community owned radio station announced their lineup, fundraising goals and the honourary chair of the four day celebration.

The annual Radiothon raises funds to keep the non-profit, volunteer-driven, community radio station on-air and this year’s event this year will celebrate the return of live-to-air performances by local musicians from the County FM studio on Cold Storage Road throughout the four day Radiothon event.

According to station General Manager Craig Mills, more than one third of the station’s annual income comes from donations & grants.

“Our donors are beloved and appreciated, critical to our success and the financial well being of 99.3 County FM. Radiothon’s our one major event per year where we ask for direct support,” Mills said. “Thankfully due to the tremendous efforts of our 104 volunteers and core staff we’ve had a good year – battled fake news successfully through our wonderful news team, aired local music every day, and delivered engaging County Conversations through our Grapevine show, specialty programming and much more.”

Serving as honourary chair in 2022 is Royal Hotel owner and former Ontario Finance Minister-turned-Northport-resident Greg Sorbara. Sorbara said County FM supports the whole community, giving voice and connection to all the groups, people, and organizations that make the County special.

“I’m especially fond of their support for the arts in the County, and also their commitment to local journalism,” Sorbara said. “I’m happy to support our community station, and I urge all County FM listeners to help the station meet the goal of $64,000 in Radiothon 2022.”

Caleb Hutton

County FM Board Chair JJ Johnston said the Sorbara family’s commitment to Prince Edward County is shown by their perseverance in the stunning rejuvenation of The Royal Hotel, both through the pandemic years and through unforeseen construction challenges.

“We’re thrilled that Greg Sorbara is Honourary Chair for Radiothon 2022, and we celebrate the success of the Sorbaras in the re-opening earlier this year of The Royal,” Johnston added. Mills said a special thank you went out to Megan Hutton for coordinating all of the musicians who volunteer their talents and to Pat Larkin County FM Production/IT Lead and all of the station’s team who are heavily involved in the event.

“We also have the return of “Matching donor hours” this year, which proved immensely popular in 2021. It’s our privilege to help connect our listeners and we are eager to constantly improve in our ability to serve The County,” Mills said. Confirmed performers for the Radiothon 2022 include: Brian Legere, Caleb Hutton, Chris Loane, Craig Foster, Elmwood Harmony, Jordan Thomas, Kevin Weaver, MISS EMILY, Shawn Dore, Annelise Noronha, Astrid Young, Benni Vander and Alison Burke, Dan Dayton, David James Allen, Flatlander, Gavin Massey, Greg Hinde, Kyra and Tully, Penny and John Kitchen, Randy Stewart, Siobhan Bodrug, Andrew McLuhan, Becky Elliott, Cameron & Cameron, Chris Bonham-Carter, Craig McRae, Jamie Pounder, Jenica Rayne, Justin Rutledge, Pete Mannheim, Peter Solmes, Telegraph Narrows, The Zabacks, The Frere Brothers, Danielle Edwards, Jeremy Kelly, KASHKA, Lenni Stewart, Megan Hutton, Mike Farrell, Peter Rea, Seventh Town, Suzanne Pasternak, and Tony Forbes.

Donations throughout the four day Radiothon broadcast June 2-5 can be made online at or by phone at 1-855-Get-2-993 (1-855-438-2993).