Flurry of filings ensure every county voter has a choice for councillor in 2022

(Gazette file photo)



Some last minute filings be candidates in Sophiasburgh and South Marysburgh has ensured the entire electorate in Prince Edward County will have choices in both the mayor and councillor columns on their 2022 municipal ballot.

For the position at the head of the Horseshoe, incumbent Mayor Steve Ferguson will be challenged by former councillors Terry Shortt and Dianne O’Brien and local resident Kyle Mayne who ran for the same position in 2014.

In Ward 1 Picton, incumbents Kate MacNaughton and Phil St. Jean are seeking re-election while newcomers Phil Adie, Jane Lesslie, and Peter Morch are vying for one of the two chairs that represent the town. 

In Bloomfield Hallowell Ward 2, challenger Sarah Moffat will look to take down either Phil Prinzen or Brad Nieman as both the latter look to be re-elected and earn a return trip to Shire Hall.

In Wellington Ward 3 and with current councillor Mike Harper not seeking to be installed in municipal office for a second term, one of Jennifer Cobb, Corey Engelsdorfer or Heather Norlock will look to be the village’s voice for the next four years.

Some familiar names in Ameliasburgh join lone incumbent Janice Maynard on the Ward 4 ballot as past councillors Paul Boyd and Roy Pennell join newcomers Sam Grosson and Bill Tkach to battle for one of three places representing the northern ward.

With longtime Athol councillor Jamie Forrester retiring, one of Sam Branderhorst, Tom Harrison, Bob Rogers or Ellis Ziegler will be elected in Ward 5.

In Ward 6, a late filing by Paul Drake will mean incumbent Bill Roberts won’t be acclaimed as was the case in 2018.

In Hillier with Ernie Margetson not seeking a return trip to Shire Hall, one of Chris Braney, Dee Hazell or Paul Vanhaarlem will cast votes for Ward 7 starting in 2023.

Another ward where an incumbent is stepping aside is Ward 8. One of former councillor David Harrison or Ben Thornton will succeed outgoing North Marysburgh councillor Stewart Bailey in the upcoming term.

Finally, in Ward 9, incumbent John Hirsch will try to fend off challenger Ryan Kreutzwiser for the position of representing voters in South Marysburgh.

In terms of English public school trustees, there will be choices for both North and South Prince Edward County candidates who will represent their constituents at the Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board’s Education Centre in Belleville for the next four years.

In the South race, Judith Burfoot and Stacey Lewis will vie for the position formerly held by outgoing trustee Alison Kelly.

In the North, Sarah Bobas, Hale Ferguson and Rachel Prinzen are running for the trustee position held for the last three terms by Cobb.

The English Separate School (Jacqueline Fernandes) Le Conseil des ecoles publiques de I’Est de I’Ontario (Rachel LeForest) and Le Conseil des écoles catholiques du Centre-Est (Michel Charron) positions were acclaimed.